Welcome to Grappenhall
  Grappenhall Independent Methodist Church

Home Navigation About Us Navigation History Navigation Events Navigation Horace Banner Navigation 21st Century Church Navigation Contact Us

Horace Banner Pioneer Missionary to the Amazon Rain Forest 

Horace Banner Window

In the Church at Grappenhall we have a window dedicated to the work of Horace and Eva Banner.  The window is a reminder of the work of Horace and Eva during 40 years in the service of God amongst the Kayapos Indians along the River Xingu and its tributaries in the Amazon Rain Forest.

When Horace first arrived in this part of Brazil, he and William Johnson went in search of three missing missionaries who had not been heard of for several months. Those three missionaries are still known to this day as the ‘Three Fred’s’: Fred Roberts, Fred Wright and Fred Dawson.

The three Freds had gone to work amongst the Kayapo and had travelled up the Xingo and then its tributary, the Rio Zinho. The Kayapo’s only contact with civilisation was through the savage attacks they carried out on the homes of Brazilian settlers often killing the men and carrying off the women back into the rain forest.

It was an 800 mile journey by boat and motor transport before Horace and William reached the edge of hostile Indian Territory. They then made two attempts with the assistance of armed guards to follow the route up the Rio Zinho taken by the three Freds. Eventually they penetrated 200 miles into Indian Territory to stand below the waterfall known as Smoke Falls to find the sunken motor boat and the clothing remains belonging to the three Freds.

Horace’s party had travelled along the Rio Zinho knowing that they could be ambushed by the Indians at any time. On their return journey to safety, Horace recorded that he had turned to the second chapter of the book of Ezekiel and read:-

"and thou, son of man, be not afraid of them…..be not afraid of their words, nor dismayed at their looks……Thou shalt speak my words unto them.”

Words of scripture that Horace would follow and which would lead to forty years of ministry to the Kayapo Indians. There is a stained glass window in the church which commemorates the work of Horace and his wife Eva.

For further reading:

"The Three Freds and After”. Horace Banner. Unevangelised Field Missions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday 19 Feb 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Tuesday 19 Feb 19 8:00 pm
'Tuesday at 8'

Wednesday 20 Feb 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 21 Feb 19
20:00 Choir Practice

Thursday 21 Feb 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 24 Feb 19
10.30Morning Worship. Fellowship led Worship.

Tuesday 26 Feb 19 10:30 am
Bible Study Group

Tuesday 26 Feb 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 27 Feb 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 28 Feb 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 3 Mar 19
10:30 Morning Worship. Speaker Alan Hodgkinson (Communion Service)

Tuesday 5 Mar 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 6 Mar 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 7 Mar 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 10 Mar 19
10:30 Morning Worship. Speaker Rob Brooks

Tuesday 12 Mar 19
Tuesday at 8

Tuesday 12 Mar 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 13 Mar 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 14 Mar 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 17 Mar 19
10:30 Morning Worship. Speaker A Hunter. Followed by Coffee and biscuits in the hall.

Tuesday 19 Mar 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 20 Mar 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 21 Mar 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 24 Mar 19
10:30 Morning Worship. Speaker Alan Harrison.

Tuesday 26 Mar 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 27 Mar 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 28 Mar 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Sunday 31 Mar 19
10:30 Morning Worship. Speaker Barry Hart

Tuesday 2 Apr 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 3 Apr 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 4 Apr 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Tuesday 9 Apr 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 10 Apr 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 11 Apr 19 10:30 am
Coffee and Conversation

Tuesday 16 Apr 19 10:30 am
Ladies Keep Fit

Wednesday 17 Apr 19 10:30 am
Church Bible Study

Thursday 18 Apr 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 25 Apr 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 2 May 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 9 May 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 16 May 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 23 May 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 30 May 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 6 Jun 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 13 Jun 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 20 Jun 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 27 Jun 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 4 Jul 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation

Thursday 11 Jul 19
10.30 Coffee and Conversation